

MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING

CITY COUNCIL CITY OF SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO

Meeting held at:
MUNICIPAL SERVICES BUILDING
COUNCIL CHAMBERS
33 ARROYO DRIVE
SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 20, 2022 4:30 p.m.

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u> Mayor Nagales called the meeting to order at 4:39 p.m.

ROLL CALL Councilmember Addiego, present

Councilmember Coleman, present Councilmember Flores, present Vice Mayor Nicolas, present Mayor Nagales, present

AGENDA REVIEW

No changes.

REMOTE PUBLIC COMMENTS – comments are limited to items on the Special Meeting Agenda.

None.

ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS

- 1. Report regarding Boards and Commissions interviews and appointments to the Conference Center Authority Hotel Representative, Cultural Arts Commission, Equity and Public Safety Commission, and Youth Commission. (Rosa Govea Acosta, City Clerk).
 - a. Interview Applicants for Youth Commission:
 - 4:40 p.m. Aaron Adriano
 - 4:50 p.m. Daniela Acevas
 - 5:00 p.m. Jasmine Ho
 - 5:10 p.m. Danielle Leong
 - 5:20 p.m. Claudia Victoria Miller
 - 5:30 p.m. Nataly Quinteros
 - 5:40 p.m. Edward Tian
 - 5:50 p.m. Sara Vides (Interviewed at 7:11 p.m.)

Council interviewed applicants Adriano. Acevas, Ho, Leong, Miller, Quinteros. Tian and Vides.

b. Interview Applicant for Cultural Arts Commission: 6:00 p.m. Lydia Pomposo

Council interviewed applicant Pomposo.

g. Interview Applicant for multiple positions (Cultural Arts Commission and Equity and Public Safety Commission):

6:10 p.m. Marisol Quevedo

Applicant Quevedo cancelled her interview prior to the meeting.

d. Interview Applicants for Conference Center Authority – Hotel Representative: 6:30 p.m. Pravin Punjiya (*Interviewed at 6:01 p.m.*)

Council interviewed applicant Punjiya.

Meeting recessed: 6:24 p.m. Meeting resumed: 6:40 p.m.

e. Interview Applicants for Cultural Arts Commission:

6:40 p.m. Jose Zelaya

6:50 p.m. Frances Luster

7:00 p.m. Jeffrey Kelley – *Not interviewed*

7:10 p.m. Faalilu Tagata – Not interviewed

Council interviewed applicants Zelaya and Luster. Applicants Kelley and Tagata were scheduled for interviews but did not attend.

f. Interview Applicants for Equity and Public Safety Commission:

7:20 p.m. Lyman Chao

7:30 p.m. Salvador Delgadillo

7:40 p.m. Zubin Thomas Maharaj

7:50 p.m. Yajaira Lizanka Morales Not interviewed

8:00 p.m. Steven Yee

Council interviewed applicants Chao, Delgadillo, Maharaj, and Yee. Applicant Morales was scheduled for an interview but did not attend.

g. Discussion and consideration of appointment of applicants to the Youth Commission. Council may appoint seven (7) applicants to a term expiring September 20, 2024. Applicants: Adrian Adriano, Daniela Acevas, Jasmine Ho, Danielle Leong, Claudia Victoria Miller, Nataly Quinteros, Edward Tian, Sara Vides.

After discussion and voting, Council appointed Applicants Adriano, Acevas, Ho, Leong, Miller, Quinteros, and Vides to the Youth Commission.

Motion—Councilmember Coleman /Second—Mayor Nagales to appoint Adrian Adriano, Daniela Acevas, Jasmine Ho, Danielle Leong, Nataly Quinteros, and Sara Vides to the Youth Commission for respective terms expiring September 20, 2024. Unanimously approved by roll call vote.

Motion—Councilmember Coleman /Second—Mayor Nagales to appoint Claudia Victoria Miller to the Youth Commission for a term expiring September 20, 2024. Approved by the following roll call vote: AYES: Councilmembers Addiego and Flores, Vice Mayor Nicolas, Mayor Nagales. NAYES: Councilmember Coleman; ABSENT: None; ABSTAIN: None.

h. Discussion and consideration of appointment of applicants to the Conference Center Authority. Council may appoint one (1) applicant to a term expiring September 20, 2026. Applicant: Pravin Punjiya

After discussion and voting, Council appointed Applicant Punjiya to the Conference Center Authority.

Motion—Vice Mayor Nicolas/Second—Councilmember Coleman to appoint Pravin Punjiya to the Conference Center Authority—Hotel Representative for a term expiring September 20, 2026. Unanimously approved by roll call vote.

- i. Discussion and consideration of appointment of applicants to the Cultural Arts Commission. Council may appoint a total of three (3) applicants to the following terms:
 - 1. Term Expiration: December 13, 2022
 - 2. Term Expiration: June 13, 2024
 - 3. Term Expiration: June 13, 2026

Applicants: Frances Luster, Jeffery Kelley, Faalilu Tagata, Lydia Pomposo, Marisol Quevedo

Motion—Mayor Nagales/Second—Vice Mayor Nicolas to appoint Frances Luster to the Cultural Arts Commission for a term expiring December 13, 2022. Unanimously approved by roll call vote.

Motion—Vice Mayor Nicolas/Second—Mayor Nagales to appoint Lydia Pomposo to the Cultural Arts Commission for a term expiring June 13, 2024. Unanimously approved by roll call vote.

Motion—Councilmember Coleman /Second—Councilmember Flores to appoint Jose Zelaya to the Cultural Arts Commission for a term expiring June 13, 2026. Unanimously approved by roll call vote.

- j. Discussion and consideration of appointment of applicants to the Equity and Public Safety Commission. Council may appoint a total of three (3) to the following terms:
 - 1. Term Expiration: April 27, 2024
 - 2. Term Expiration: April 27, 2026
 - 3. Alternate Member: September 20, 2024 (2 year) or September 20, 2026 (4 year)

Applicants: Lyman Chao, Salvador Delgadillo, Zubin Thomas Maharaj, Yajaira Lizanka Morales, Steven Yee, Marisol Quevedo.

Motion—Councilmember Flores/Second—Councilmember Coleman to appoint Salvador Delgadillo to the Equity and Public Safety Commission for a term expiring April 27, 2024. Unanimously approved by roll call vote.

Motion—Mayor Nagales/Second—Councilmember Addiego to appoint Steven Yee to the Equity and Public Safety Commission for a term expiring April 27, 2026. Unanimously approved by roll call vote.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>		
Being no further business, Mayor Nagales a	adjourned the meeting at 8:37 p.m.	
Submitted by:	Approved:	
Rosa Govea Acosta, MMC, CPMC	Mark Nagales	_
City Clerk	Mayor	
Approved: //		

Motion- Councilmember Addiego/Second- Councilmember Coleman to continue recruiting for an

alternate member of the Equity and Public Safety Commission.